Day 3 June 7 2016

Today we taught the children about emotions, they drew emojis and acted them out . We taught them how to explain and express how they are feeling. We spoke about our and their interest( music, art, reading,sports, etc.) and taught them more about how to write sentences correctly. Their ages varied from 7-17, the older students were a bit more shy than the younger students, however they were more interested in our personal lives, but all were VERY respectful and polite. It wasn’t too hard to get them to break out of their comfort zones or to participate in games. Two of the children drew a picture of me. They were so funny, and active little characters.

We asked the students about their interest and to tell us about themselves. We also asked some students about their daily schedule and tasks. I was surprised to hear that they wake up at 5am Monday-Friday. Their first task is to exercise, they do laundry, shower and dress, then breakfast. They have back to back classes and then they have lunch (which are cooked with students help) then more class time. After classes they have the responsibility of washing their own dishes , washing their own clothes, cleaning their own rooms, extra curricular activities, dinner and homework. They are usually in bed by 9 We asked Jeab, the English director what we could send to donate to the school. She really didn’t answer and kind of just smiled. Later one of our group members mentioned that she realized what this meant. What could we possibly give these children that they don’t already have. Their needs were taken care of thoroughly.

I noticed that we were allowed to keep our shoes on while the students were required to remove them. We were respected as teachers at all times. I’ve been feeling very honored and have been feeling so many emotions. I feel that I am more respected in a country that is not even my own. Around town I have not once been treated with disrespect nor have I been treated as a tourist or a foreigner. People here are so helpful, smiling all the time, in Thailand you notice the little things that count. These children are so appreciative of what they have, they are hard workers, and are so respectful and kind. We were always greeted with a wai (hands together and bow)  and in class greeted out loud in English, and in a synchronized harmony, ” Hello, Miss How are you? Thank you” . We were always referred to as Miss. I will never forget how well I was treated here at this school or in Thailand.

I can’t get over how friendly the students were and even the staff. They were so helpful and caring, and always provided us with lunch or absolutely anything else we needed. They treated us as if we were part of the staff, dining with us, chatting with us as adults. Jeab had such a beautiful and kind spirit. She was also always dressed very nicely in dresses and cute two pieces. “I want to be like her when I grow up.” I’m pretty sure she’s the nicest person I’ve ever met and I am not exaggerating.

The day was looooooong. 8hrs of interacting with children, it was an amazing experience to say the least but definitely tiring.

 

Leave a comment