300 steps

If you ever have the opportunity to come to Chiang Mai, Thailand you MUST visit the Wat Phrathat Doi Suthep Temple. It was absolutely the most beautiful place I’ve seen in Chiang Mai. It is commonly called the 300 step temple. I’m sure you can imagine why, but every single step and winded inhale of air was worth it. Even the cramped up calves and weak knees were worth it. There were so many pictures to take, I have posted some already. I was given the opportunity to be prayed over by a monk, so of course I had to take it. With a handful of bamboo strips he blessed my head with holy water, wished me good luck and happiness in the future, and prayed in both English and Thai. I was one of the few that were able to experience this, and I feel so lucky. There were so many flowers and many Buddha statues, and a gorgeous view of the city, but the main temple was… Just wow!!!! So golden, so big, so beautiful. I could stare at it for hours if I had the time. People were so respectful, taking turns to get their photos. Although, I feel that perhaps it wasn’t me who deserved the respect, but rather the temple instead. I would say I’d like to go back again, but truthfully I feel that I wouldn’t ever need to. Every small detail is stuck in my mind, an unforgettable sight.

Leave a comment